So yeah, it’s been a while.

I apologise for the absence of posts for the last month and a half or so. Real life took over slightly and I had a shed ton of work to do. But now i’m most definitely back on the ball. I suppose this is really just to update anyone who’s interested in what I’ll be looking at and how i’ll be getting back into the swing of things.

Hopefully this week i’ll have a few more articles out looking at some more surrealist artists, notably the poet Benjamin Peret but also the contemporary production of Alfred Jarry’s ‘Ubu Roi’ – from the excellent ‘Cheek-by-Jowl’ production company. I’m excited to get going again and I think, for a while at least, i’ll be focusing on more contemporary surrealists. I think there’s a definite influence of what some may call neo-surrealism. I just call it going ‘full-circle’. Surreal elements are creeping into more and more underground and mainstream art productions, and i’m finding that the more time I spend looking around for ideas the more I realise the extent of material there really is out there for me to use.

I’m also excited to say that i’ve had some people send in some works of there own that they’re trying to get coverage for, which of course i’m more than happy to oblige. These people are amateurs or simply unrecognised talent that I’ve taken a real liking to. If you ever have something you’d like me to put on here, feel free to send it in via my contact page. It’s something I’m more than happy to do, especially considering that I just love talking about and experiencing surrealism in general.

Speaking of which, i’d like to share with you a poem sent in by Jacob Adams, who’s currently unpublished anywhere. It’s titled ‘Total’, and i thoroughly enjoyed it – Jacob taking particular influence from Robert Desnos and the art of Remedios Varo (who I wrote on a while back if you’re interested in finding out more about them.) For me it gives a real visceral feeling – I almost feel sick at points just because he makes me smell the raw materials, and visualise the lurching motion of the poem. I also, and this sounds evident, like the language use. Each adjective, image and noun is unexpected and brings with it a moment of thought. The result is a series of images that really stick in the mind. It’s weird and yet, for me, seems quite profound in providing an insight to the very definition of ‘oh how the mighty have fallen’. See what you think.

‘Total’ by Jacob Adams

Eight pretty dragons

sit with headaches and rouge food

on hot dirt.

Hurting with the warm churn of their breath,

they light a bonfire.

 

Their hearts feel sick with vertigo,

as the sour black smell rises

when the lighter scratches.

 

With a lovely swerve,

they take an iron inhale –

next to a highway

that spikes upwards like helium.

 

They’re now smoke men.

Their saga swung like a pendulum

into the man-hole;

so these helio creators sniff,

gently softening in the afternoon breeze.

 

All those stars seem less bright now.

